Boris Yeltsin’s death

Saw this headline from The Economist, "Boris Yeltsin, Russia’s first president, died on April 23rd, aged 76"
Although I personally admire Gorbachev more, for his gust and daring to tear down the iron curtain, even though we’ve to leave it to history to judge whether it’s a wise decision or not; Yeltsin’s effort in managing the turnoil in the "dissolved" USSR… His remarks made by the time when he handed his power to his successor moved me quite a lot, right, he admitted mistakes, with a frank, open & commited heart – the way a leader should be. Just wanna share:
 

"I ask you to forgive me for not fulfilling the hopes of those people who believed that we would be able to jump from the grey, stagnating, totalitarian past into a bright, rich and civilised future in one go. I myself believed in this. But it could not be done in one fell swoop…I am leaving. I have done everything I could…In saying farewell, I wish to say to each of you the following. Be happy. You deserve happiness. You deserve happiness and peace."

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

